top of page

Time To Step Up

The best thing about the new year: new beginnings. Now, you really don’t have to wait for the new year to start anew but it’s a great reminder. A brand new day or a change of perspective is enough. For me, a simple change of my current thoughts often helps.

Last year, I’ve accomplished a couple of great things but I will honestly say not so much I’ve desired in the writing department. Luckily, a comment from a friend who recently became a semi-finalist in a screenplay competition changed my thoughts for the better. I’ve written a couple of scripts last year but I didn’t do anything further with them after they were done. I’ve contemplated on sending a few to a couple of screenplay competitions but money, fear, and doubt stopped me in my tracks.

Suddenly, I was afraid someone was going to read my screenplay competition submission, steal the idea, and make money out of it. I’ve submitted a few scripts in the past but they were kindly rejected. I have a part-time job in a place I enjoy but it doesn’t pay enough that I can easily pay screenplay competition submissions (guys, check out those early bird deadlines asap) right off the bat since student loans, health insurance, and etc. came first . I was just feeling blah because of these things. In all reality, they’re only excuses I’ve made up to hold myself back. Geez, why do I torture myself so?! There’s always a way to your goals.

2016 is the new year to step up. Like seriously, I love writing. It’s time to really follow the love instead following the fears. Money is coming my way more than it was last year, the possibility of some rude person stealing script ideas is incredibly rare, and there are hundreds upon hundreds of screenwriting competition opportunities out there so there’s no excuse for me to apply to at least three this year. Plus, there are playwriting opportunities and the majority of them are FREE!

No excuses, no bs. It’s time to step up.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Tumblr Social Icon
bottom of page